Quartet grants 9 emergency routes for Qatari planes

Effective from August 1

ABU DHABI 1 August 2017: The civil aviation authorities in the United Arab Emirates, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the Kingdom of Bahrain and the Arab Republic of Egypt, have granted nine emergency routes for use by the Qatari planes, in co-ordination with the International Civil Aviation Organisation, ICAO, and the neighbouring countries.

A source at the UAE’s General Civil Aviation Authority, GCAA, said, “Such a step confirms our commitment to the safety of regional and international air navigation, given that it is a standard practice in similar circumstances,” said Wam.

The agreed emergency routes are located in the overseas areas managed by the UAE. They will be used to facilitate air navigation operations and ensure their safety, under the umbrella of the ICAO, which co-ordinates and oversees such agreements.

“The nine granted routes include one over the Mediterranean. It is managed by Egypt and will begin operations on August 1. A Notice to Airmen, NOTAM, has already been issued for this route and for the other agreed routes over the Arabian Gulf,” the source said.

The source added that the procedure is being followed as part of the GCAA’s commitment to maintaining air safety and security, in line with the country’s decision to cut diplomatic and consular relations with Qatar, which also includes prohibiting Qatari airlines from using the country’s air routes.

By Rajive Singh