UAE welcomes Fifa Club World Cup family

By Sheena Amos

ABU DHABI 12 December 2018: Ahead of this month’s Fifa Club World Cup UAE in Abu Dhabi and Al Ain, players, team officials and fans from six continental qualifiers were welcomed to the UAE yesterday.

“After a long qualification process spanning domestic leagues and dramatic continental cup competitions, the Fifa Club World Cup UAE 2018 line-up is complete,” said Major General Mohammad Khalfan Al Romaithi, General Commander of Abu Dhabi Police, Deputy Chairman of Abu Dhabi Sports Council Board of Directors and Head of the tournament’s Higher Local Organising Committee.

“In addition to our national hosts, Al Ain FC, the tournament will welcome international teams and passionate fans from Argentina, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Spain and Tunisia. The world is coming to the UAE and we are thrilled to be able to demonstrate the country’s hospitality and capacity to host world-class sporting events to spectators from every corner of the planet. We want everyone to make it a tournament to remember.”

To ensure the tournament lives long in the memory for all concerned, Al Romaithi urged visitors to step occasionally away from football during their visits and experience the rich history, heritage and culture of both Abu Dhabi and Al Ain, as well as other Emirates.

“Inevitably, incoming fans will want to focus on their teams’ matches, that is completely natural. However, we encourage all fans to explore the hospitality of the country – from the rich tapestry of ancient heritage sites, to the modern cultural institutions in both Abu Dhabi, Al Ain and beyond,” added Al Romaithi.

“There are hundreds of ways for visiting fans to experience the uniqueness of the UAE – a country unlike any other in the world,” added Al Romaithi.

Running December 12 – 22, the Fifa Club World Cup UAE 2018 will feature eight matches shared between Hazza Bin Zayed Stadium in Al Ain and Abu Dhabi’s Zayed Sports City Stadium.

Competing teams include the winners of six of Fifa’s continental federations: Japan’s Kashima Antlers (AFC), Tunisia’s Espérance Sportive de Tunis (CAF) Mexico’s CD Guadalajara (Concacaf), Argentina’s River Plate (Conmebol), New Zealand’s Team Wellington FC (Oceania), Spain’s reigning champions Real Madrid (UEFA), and UAE hosts, Al Ain FC. The seven teams boast 309 (RP) major trophies between them.

Tickets starting from Dh25 are selling fast.

Dubai Gazette